Multifamily Housing

The Gwinnett Housing Corporation provides property management services for 212 multifamily housing sites owned by the Lawrenceville Housing Authority (LHA). The LHA was established on May 8, 1950 and was funded through the Housing Act of 1937 for the purpose of providing decent, safe, and sanitary housing to low-income citizens of Lawrenceville and the surrounding areas. 

The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), through its multifamily housing program, contracts with owners to provide rental assistance that makes up the difference between what an extremely low-, low-, or very low-income household can afford and the approved rent for an adequate housing unit in a multifamily project. GHC currently manages 7 multifamily housing sites with a total of 212 housing units and is committed to providing the highest customer service to all residents, participants, and the public in a manner consistent with the principles of respect, fairness, and equity.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I qualify for multifamily housing?

  • You do not have any outstanding utility bill balances
  • Your income falls within the guidelines listed here
  • You are at least 18 years of age

How do I apply for multifamily housing?

Currently, our waiting list is closed. It was last opened in June of 2018. When the multifamily wait list opens it will be advertised via website, social media, and published notice in the Gwinnett Daily Post.

How do I apply for Section 8 housing (Housing Choice Voucher)?

GHC does not manage the Section 8 program for Gwinnett County; that is run by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA). Please visit their website for more information regarding the Section 8 program, portability, and wait list/application procedures.

What is the rent amount based on?

Rent is based on each household’s income. Each family will pay about 30% of their gross (before tax) monthly income towards their rent and utilities.

Do I have to be a US Citizen to receive public housing assistance?

If all of your household’s members are U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals, or have eligible immigration status, then your family may qualify.  If you or one or more of your household members cannot, or do not, fall into one of these categories, you will not necessarily be denied but the amount of assistance you receive may be reduced or terminated.

%d bloggers like this: